What States Can You Own A Monkey?

. Owning monkeys is highly regulated by the United States government.

As a result, owning monkeys is only allowed in certain states, and even when it is allowed, a permit is often required. States such as Arizona, Wyoming, South Dakota, and Kansas do not allow ownership of primates at all, including monkeys. Other states, such as North Carolina, Wisconsin, and Michigan, require a permit for individuals to own monkeys.

Furthermore, many cities and counties have their own regulations regarding pet monkeys and may require additional permits on top of any other state laws. Therefore, if you are thinking of owning a monkey, it is important to research your state, county, and city regulations to ensure that it is within the law.

Leave a Comment