What States Can You Own A Monkey In?

The United States is one of the few countries that allow private citizens to own monkeys, but only certain states permit it. Primates like monkeys may be legally owned in a few states such as Arizona, Wyoming, Louisiana, South Carolina, North Carolina, Missouri, Illinois, and Georgia.

In states like New York, Massachusetts, and California, primates may only be owned with a permit. It is important to remember that these laws can change, so it is best to check the state laws prior to obtaining a monkey.

Leave a Comment