What States Are Legal To Own A Monkey?

edA monkey can be legally owned as a pet in the following states: Arizona, Delaware, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Missouri, Oklahoma, and North Carolina. Generally, these states require a permit to own a primate, so research should be conducted prior to purchasing a monkey to make sure that you are aware of the legal requirements. Some local jurisdictions may also require additional permits.

However, there are states that ban the ownership of any kind of primate, so it is important to also check with local laws to make sure that owning a monkey is legal in your state.

Leave a Comment