简体中文   
 
点击这里下载JMC地图・指南
简体中文版 / 繁體中文版

期刊
Primates

1957年创刊

Primates是灵长类学领域最早的英文期刊,由日本猿猴中心(Japan Monkey Centre,JMC)与日本灵长类学会联合通过Springer出版社出版发行。

 

新闻

See More

猴子谷的日本猴(Macaca fuscata yakui)表现出在溪流里洗红薯及其他食物的行为。猴子们把红薯放在水里,然后在石头壁上摩擦。在整个进食过程中,他们会做多次这样的动作。他们也这样洗其他食物,比如苹果。

日本猴洗红薯的行为首先是在日本幸岛的野生种群中观察到的,并被认为是一种前文化行为(Kawai, 1965; Hirata et al., 2001)。虽然摩擦物体在猕猴中很常见(Torigoe, 1985),JMC的猴子表现出的在水中摩擦物体的行为却少见而有趣。

这种有趣的行为可以在每天猴子喂食的时间很容易地观察到:猴子给食时间是下午3:30-4:00。快来亲自观察吧!



参考文献:
-Kawai, M. (1965). Newly-acquired pre-cultural behavior of the natural troop of Japanese monkeys on Koshima Islet. Primates, 6(1), 1-30.
-Torigoe, T. (1985). Comparison of object manipulation among 74 species of non-human primates. Primates, 26(2), 182-194.
-Hirata, S., Watanabe, K., & Masao, K. (2001). “Sweet-potato washing” revisited. In Primate origins of human cognition and behavior (pp. 487-508). Springer Japan.

所长致辞

日本灵长类学的创立始于1948年12月3日。那时,今西锦司先生(1902-1992)和他的两位来自京都大学的学生,去幸岛观察野生日本猕猴。通过研究这种猴子的社会行为,他们致力于理解人类社会的演化起源。

大多数人可能没有意识到,在北美或是欧洲,并没有野生的猴子或猿类。在G7成员国中,日本是独特的。日本有野生的猴子物种,称为日本猴或雪猴。它们的存在,促进了日本在非人灵长类领域的研究。

灵长类学是研究包括人类在内的所有灵长类的科学。为了理解作为人类的我们自己,研究我们的近亲是十分重要的。人们希望发现有关猿类、猴子及原猴类比如狐猴的更多知识。幸而有京都大学学者的开创性努力,日本的灵长类学通过对本土野生猴子的野外研究而独特地发展起来。

日本的灵长类学学者共同努力,创立了日本猿猴中心(Japan Monkey Centre,JMC)。JMC在1956年10月17日建立。它致力于推进非人灵长类领域的学术研究、教育、动物保护、动物福利及与公众的交流。JMC从2014年4月开始,成为“公益财团法人”。

JMC也是一个注册的博物馆。其从1957年起,发行期刊“Primates”,这是目前世界上历史最长的英语语言的灵长类学期刊。Primates是本领域领先的期刊,与日本灵长类学会(Primate Society Japan,PSJ)合作,由Springer出版社出版发行。JMC也有一个特别的动物园,主要是非人灵长类动物,共有67个 物种(截至2014年10月)1000多只动物。

这是JMC的官方网站。这里有中文介绍的正在进行的项目信息及新闻。请加入我们,共建通往非人灵长类动物世界的一扇窗。通过观察非人灵长类动物,我们可以对人类在自然界中的位置有更深刻的体会与认识,会拥有对理解人类社会、人类行为之演化起源的更热切的愿望。


2014年10月15日于京都
松泽哲郎
日本猿猴中心所长
PRIMATES主编
京都大学教授
国际灵长类学会主席


主管

尾池和夫
理事长
松泽哲郎
所长
山极寿一
博物馆馆长
伊谷原一
动物园园长
 

我们的历史

1948
幸岛,日本灵长类学的起源

日本灵长类学的创立始于1948年12月3日。那时,今西锦司先生(1902-1992)和他的两位来自京都大学的学生,去幸岛观察野生日本猕猴。

Photo © Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Itani Junichiro Archives

1953
洗红薯

幸岛的猴子洗红薯被首次观察到。

Photo © Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Itani Junichiro Archives

1956
日本猿猴中心(Japan Monkey Centre,JMC)

JMC在1956年10月17日建立。它的宗旨是推进非人灵长类领域的学术研究、教育、动物保护、动物福利及与公众的交流。


首届灵长类研究年度会议召开。

Photos © Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Itani Junichiro Archives

1957
灵长类学期刊 PRIMATES

JMC开始发行期刊“Primates”。这是目前历史最长的灵长类学英文期刊。

1958
首次在非洲

JMC在当年2月开始了首次在非洲的考察,研究大猩猩与黑猩猩。


考察的另外一个目的是与来自世界各地的很多机构的研究者会面。

照片:Carpenter博士(右),手中正是期刊Primates的第一期,与今西博士(左)在一起。

Photos © Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Itani Junichiro Archives

1960
Drs Itani and Goodall

JMC派伊谷纯一郎博士第三次前往非洲考察。在9月29日,伊谷博士到达贡贝,并与珍•古道尔博士见面。

照片:从左至右:东博士,今西博士,伊谷博士,和古道尔博士(1961)。
© Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Itani Junichiro Archives

1965

西田利贞博士在西坦桑尼亚的马哈勒山脉成功建立了有目前第二长历史的野外黑猩猩研究基地。

1967
Primate Research Institute
灵长类研究所

灵长类研究所(Primate Research Institute,PRI)在JMC研究者的帮助下,于JMC附近建成。研究者们加入了PRI,并且在PRI发展早期作出了至关重要的贡献。

© Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Takeshi Furuichi

1971

JMC资助伊泽纮生博士前往亚马逊开展日本人在那里的第一次考察。

2014
全新努力的开始

日本猿猴中心(Japan Monkey Centre,JMC)从2014年4月起成为“公益财团法人”。这是JMC建立以来的第59年,JMC依然在变得更好。

1957年创刊

PRIMATES

灵长类学最早的英文期刊
PRIMATES

Primates是灵长类学领域历史最长的英文期刊,由日本猿猴中心(Japan Monkey Centre,JMC)与日本灵长类学会联合通过Springer出版社出版发行。该期刊致力于推进非人灵长类各个领域的研究,籍此促进对于同为灵长类的人类的认识。JMC的博物馆负责任命编辑委员会成员、顾问委员会成员和主编,主持编委会会议及开展期刊PRIMATES的编审等事务。


卷尾语——1957年10月25日,Primates第一卷,第一期

目前,并没有专门在灵长类领域的学术期刊;我宣告本刊是首个灵长类学期刊。这难道不令人兴奋吗?首先,灵长类学专业在世界上任何一所大学都不存在,因此并没有灵长类学的学会。而日本猿猴中心(Japan Monkey Centre,JMC)跨越了通常学科发展的程序——先在大学中建立专业,之后组织一个学术团体,最后发行学术期刊——而直接将这份灵长类学专业的期刊出版发行,正是学术权威执行程序改变的例子。“灵长类学”在日语中可被翻译为“霊長類学”(reichourui-gaku)。但是,我们并不太愿意使用这样一个生涩拗口的名词。我们期望的灵长类学是一个对有不同系统发生地位的灵长类全面探索以阐明人类谱系发生历史的新的学术领域。它从许多学科角度进行研究,不仅包括形态学和发展科学,也包括生理学、心理学、生态学、社会学等等。

正是从这点出发,我们有这样一个想法:把世界上不同的灵长类物种养在一个动物园内,而这个动物园将在JMC的监督下建成;我们并不鲁莽地将研究领域扩大到不与人类共享较近的系统发生关系的动物中去。在这第一卷中,我们只收录了以日本猕猴的自然观察为基础的文章,但本刊将逐渐努力丰富内容以期达到前述目标。另一方面,我恳请日本之外的帮助及对本刊的支持,直到它拥有国际的影响力。我可能说了太多有些任性的话,但我只是希望相关工作可以蓬勃地发展,并能让大家看见一个光明的未来。因此,我诚恳地呼吁诸位的支持与合作。

今西锦司


Primates主编致辞

编审:2015-2017,新的编辑委员会

作为新任的主编,我想宣布:期刊Primates新的编辑委员会从2015年1月开始上任,并在接下来的三年中继续。Primates是最早的灵长类学英文期刊,由日本猿猴中心(Japan Monkey Centre,JMC)与日本灵长类学会联合通过Springer出版社出版发行。上一任主编山极寿一先生,最近被选为京都大学第26任校长;我于2014年10月接替了他主编的工作。我十分感谢作为副编辑和顾问委员会成员的同事们的努力,没有他们,本刊无法完成它的使命。请允许我借此机会回顾一下我们的历史。日本的灵长类学开始于1948年12月3日。那是已故的今西锦司先生(1902-1992)和他的两位京都大学的本科生启程去幸岛观察野生日本猕猴的日子。

通过研究猴子的社会行为,他们致力于理解人类社会的演化起源。灵长类学是研究包括人类在内的所有灵长类的科学。为了理解作为人类的我们自己,研究我们的近亲是十分重要的。科学家和非专业人士同样都对猿类、猴子及原猴类有兴趣。日本的灵长类学家共同努力,在1956年10月17日创立了JMC。不久之后,在1958年,JMC首次派出人员前往非洲考察野生大猩猩和黑猩猩。JMC致力于推进非人灵长类领域的学术研究、教育、动物保护、动物福利及与公众的交流。JMC从2014年4月开始,成为“公益财团法人”;它也是一个注册的博物馆,负责期刊Primates的组织运营。JMC也有一个特别的动物园,主要是非人灵长类动物,共有67个物种1000多只动物(截至2015年1月)。通过对非人灵长类动物对研究,我们可以对人类在自然界中的位置有更深刻的体会与认识。

 
 

计划您的参观

Become a Member

“友の会”(Tomo-no-kai)会员

注册成为会员:友の会

友の会的会员资格为您提供一整年的优惠和一些优先权。作为一位会员,您可以免费进入JMC,免费停车,并可参加只对会员开放的活动。

门票价格

成人800 円

小学生、初中生400 円

学龄前儿童(3岁及以上)
300 円

2岁及以下免费

停车

小型汽车

三月~十二月中旬1,000 円

十二月中旬~二月500 円

巴士/小型巴士1,500 円
 

开放时间

开放时间

三月~十月10:00 - 17:00

十一月~二月10:00 - 16:00

休园日 周二和周三

日本猿猴中心(Japan Monkey Centre,JMC)在每周二和周三休息。另外,JMC在二月的周一到周五休息。*在公共节假日开放。

 

路线

map
地址:日本爱知犬山官林26    484-0081

交通

从名铁犬山线的犬山站,步行20分钟。


到犬山站
从名铁名古屋站

快速特急(Kaisoku Tokkyu)列车或特急(Tokkyu)列车,25分钟。

从中部日本国际机场站

μSKY Limited Express(Myu Sukai)列车大约55分钟。



更详细的信息,请参见路线•地图@犬山旅游指南处网站
http://ml.inuyama.gr.jp/zh-hans/directions-and-maps-ch
 

游客中心

经验丰富的工作人员通常在场,为游客介绍JMC并回答任何问题。这里有非人灵长类动物的剥制标本和骨骼标本,以及相关的信息展示。我们也举办主题多样的特别展览。

马达加斯加馆

这个户外场馆是一个以壕沟围起来的岛的样子,这样的布局可以使其中居住的动物自由漫步。在这个岛形场地中生活的是三种不同的狐猴,在野外他们只分布在马达加斯加:褐狐猴,黑狐猴,领狐猴。

南美馆

在这里您可以看到来自南美洲的体型很小的绒猴科动物。这个室内场馆保持25°C的温度,以模拟赤道雨林的环境情况。这里还有一个特别的房间:它白天黑夜颠倒,我们的白天是他们的夜晚。在我们白天的时间,可以看到夜行性猴子精力充沛地活动。


亚洲馆

在这里可以看到日本猴,也叫雪猴,他们是世界上所有灵长类中分布最靠北的物种。这里还有别的亚洲的猴子,比如猕猴。

狐猴世界

您可以进入这个户外场馆来近距离观察自由活动的环尾狐猴。


非洲中心

JMC的特别亮点之一是黑猩猩一家。这家去年刚刚喜添新宝宝,小黑猩猩Mamoru。在黄昏时分,您还可以看到大猩猩聚集起来寻找晚餐的食物,这些食物早些时候被工作人员藏在场馆内许多不同的地方。在这里您也可以看到夜行性猴子。

非洲馆

在这里,您可以看到色彩鲜艳的猴子,比如阿拉伯狒狒。而疣猴则展示着他们异常美丽的黑白条纹。


狒狒城

从上方平台这里俯视,可以看到七十余只东非狒狒。

猴子谷

从这个观察平台上,您可以看到160只日本屋久岛猴生活在这样一个4000 m2的山谷中。从冬至日一直到二月末,在周末和假日,可以看到日本屋久岛猴用真正的篝火取暖(请见日历区域的日程安排)。为猴子点燃篝火的传统始于1957年。当时为了烧掉被伊势湾台风刮倒的树木,工作人员点燃树木,并观察到日本屋久岛猴聚集在火堆旁。这个新的“篝火季节”很快成为一个著名的深受喜爱的年度项目。


大轮环
猴子空中走廊
松鼠猴世界

猴子攀爬区

在这里,您可以看到合趾猿用手臂荡在15米高的大轮环处,黑掌蜘蛛猴在100米长的吊桥上徘徊(猴子空中走廊)。我们的动物饲养员会定时在“猴子空中走廊”下面讲解。不要忘了向上观赏这个游JMC必看的景象。不过,请一定时刻注意避开落下的猴子排泄物!在旁边小岛(松鼠猴世界)的密林中,可以看到玻利维亚松鼠猴自由地活动。


长臂猿馆

在这里,您可以看到野外生存在东南亚的四个物种的长臂猿:白手长臂猿,戴帽长臂猿,白掌长臂猿,灰长臂猿。

宠物动物园 儿童动物园

您可以抚摸大概三十种非常可爱的或是奇奇怪怪的动物。

教育活动

在1957年,日本猿猴中心(Japan Monkey Centre,JMC)注册成为一个博物馆,正式被日本法律承认。从那年开始,JMC一直举行多种多样的教育活动来宣传非人灵长类。我们这些教育项目的受众范围广泛:所有年龄的孩子与学生,老师,动物园工作人员,以及学术研究者。

在最多可容纳200人的演讲厅,经验丰富的工作人员定期进行特定主题的授课。JMC也提供一些有动物园特色的活动:引导参观,手工工作坊,以及其他可以动手的活动。另外,也有一些项目可以让学生得到宝贵的工作经验。


讲座

经验丰富的工作人员做30分钟的讲座介绍他们的研究课题

 

CaPriCo

人工饲养灵长类标本集数据库
http://www.j-monkey.jp/caprico/index_e.php

作为一个博物馆,日本猿猴中心(Japan Monkey Centre,JMC)致力于保存动物遗体的存留物标本并对他们进行分类。我们的人工饲养灵长类标本集(Captive Primate Collection,CaPriCo)的数据库最终将提供于JMC储存的6300余个个体样本的详细信息。

标本集的一个子集,骨骼标本信息现在已经可以获取。我们目前正在筹募更多的资金,以使骨骼标本及福尔马林保存的大脑标本、消化器官标本和寄生虫标本的信息得以全部输入并可以获取。

观察野生非人灵长类动物的日常生活

我们最重要的目标之一是向游客介绍野生非人灵长类动物的世界。在我们看来,所有的JMC工作人员都熟悉非人灵长类的野外生活是十分重要的。JMC派遣工作人员去很多非人灵长类动物种群的野外栖息地,包括日本的幸岛,日本的屋久岛,及非洲的坦桑尼亚。

通过观察在自然栖息地生活的野生非人灵长类动物,我们明白了如何最好地去改善我们圈养的动物的生活环境:通过提供与他们在野外尽可能接近的条件。

アクセスカウンター
回顶部

English Version  
 

Journal
Primates

Since 1957

Primates is the oldest English-language Primatology journal, published by the Japan Monkey Centre (JMC) through Springer in collaboration with Primate Society Japan.

See More
Featured Article
Hand Picked by Media and Information Section

Kawakami F, Tomonaga M, Suzuki J (2016) The first smile: spontaneous smiles in newborn Japanese macaques (Macaca fuscata).


Latest Post from the Editors of Primates
The Easiest Way to Get People to Read Your Article

 

News

September 08, 2016
Exclusive Guided Tour by and for Mountain Enthusiasts
Prof. Tetsuro Matsuzawa gave an exclusive tour to an honored guest: Mr. Isamu Tatsuno, the founder of Montbell and ... (Continue reading)
September 06, 2016
Joint International Symposium
The 6th International Symposium on Primatology and Wildlife Science and The 5th CCT-Bio International Workshop on Tropical Biodiversity and Conservation

Journal Monkey
In celebration of its 60th anniversary, the Japan Monkey Centre (JMC) proudly announces the revival of the '(re)brand-new' journal Monkey. Monkey, first appeared in 1957 and was published regularly by the JMC until 2001. In 2016, the 60th year since the founding of the JMC, the center will recommence publishing the journal Monkey, subtitled 'From Primatology to Wildlife Science.' The revitalized journal format will comprise 20+ pages featuring many color photographs. The new Monkey, with editions to appear quarterly, promises to be even more fascinating, informative, and fun. To subscribe, and/or for further information, please visit: j-monkey.jp

Please visit j-monkey.jp for further information

Symbolic Representation and Working Memory in Chimpanzees


Video clip for AAAS lecture "Ai and Ayumu" / 4 min 50 sec long ©Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University
Play the Video


Izumi, A Former-JMC Monkey Became A Mother

A baby Japanese macaque was born March 18, 2016 at Regenstein Macaque Forest, Lincoln Park Zoo, Chicago. Congratulations! See adorable photos of the baby cuddling with Izumi on http://www.lpzoo.org/

Photos © Jillian Braun / Lincoln Park Zoo

Zoo-danamo (Zoouniversity 6)

Mar. 24 Updated: many thanks to all who supported and attended at Zoouniversity 6, and HERE's the photo report. Please check it out.


The Japan Monkey Centre (JMC) is proud to host this year's annual meeting of the Zoouniversity, on Sunday, March 20th, 2016. JMC hopes many of you will attend.


The 60th annual conference

Date: January 30th - 31st, 2016
Venue: Visitor Center and Seminar House Hakutei@ Japan Monkey Centre

Back Number Click HERE to Read All Articles

 

The Latest News, Direct from the JMC Zoo

Our Zoo caretakers are running a large number of projects aimed at improving the living space of our captive primates, and so to maximise their physical/psychological well-being. Here we report the latest news from our ongoing projects.

Melon the infant siamang: successfully reunited with her parents
April 23rd, 2015

The Japan Monkey Centre has housed siamangs (Symphalangus syndactylus) for over half a decade, since 1959. The family lineage stretches back across four generations. In November 2014, a female infant siamang named ‘Melon’ was transferred to be human-reared when she was two months old. Melon's father began carrying her from very early on, and this actually made it more difficult for her mother to care for her. Her father was careful with Melon, but at that age she needed milk from her mother to sustain her. Her mother did not try to take her back and so could not offer breast-feeding. As a result, Melon became severely weakened. We have been trying very hard, recently, to reunite her with her parents.
June 10th, 2015

Melon, the infant siamang, and her parents have gradually made progress, step by step. They got used to the outdoor enclosure (Melon's former home), and to spending time together, a little bit at a time. Meanwhile, our Zoo caretakers increased the number of hanging supports in the enclosure (made out of fire-hose). Mimicking hanging vines (etc.) in their natural environment, the hanging loops of fire-hose provide flexible structure that the siamangs can easily grab and brachiate between. Brachiation is the natural movement siamangs use to move through the tree-tops: swinging from hold to hold by their long arms. The fire-hose increases the complexity of the enclosure, especially high-up and it also provides a good surface for the young siamang to grip onto securely. Finally, Melon is spending all day every day with her family. For the last three days all has gone well.

Director's Welcome

The discipline of Primatology started in Japan on December 3rd, 1948. The late Kinji Imanishi (1902-1992) and his two students, from Kyoto University, went to Koshima Island to observe wild Japanese monkeys. By studying the social behavior of this monkey they aimed to understand the evolutionary origins of human society.


Most people may not realise that there are no species of monkeys or apes native to North America or Europe. Among G7 member state countries, Japan is unique. Japan has an indigenous species of monkey, called the Japanese or snow monkey, benefiting the study of nonhuman primates here.


Primatology is the scientific study of all primates, including humans. In order to understand ourselves as humans, it is essential to study our closest living relatives; people are keen to discover more about apes, monkeys, and prosimians such as lemurs.Thanks to the pioneering efforts of Kyoto University scholars, primatology in Japan began uniquely through fieldwork on the native wild monkeys.


Japanese primatologists worked together to help create the Japan Monkey Centre (JMC). It was founded on October 17th, 1956. The JMC aims to promote research, education, conservation, welfare, and communication to the public regarding nonhuman primates. JMC became a 'Public Interest Incorporated Foundation' from April 2014.

The JMC is also a registered museum, since 1957 producing the journal, “Primates”, now the oldest Primatology journal written in English. Primates is a leading journal in the discipline, published by Springer in collaboration with Primate Society Japan (PSJ). The JMC also runs a unique zoo, specializing in nonhuman primates, with over 1,000 individuals representing 67 (as of 2014) different species.


This is the official website of JMC, with information about ongoing projects and news updates, in English. Join us for a window onto the world of nonhuman primates. Through observing nonhuman primates we can develop a better appreciation of our place within nature, a keener desire to understand the evolutionary origins of human society and behavior.


October 15th, 2014 in Kyoto
Tetsuro Matsuawa
General Director, Japan Monkey Centre
Editor-in-chief, PRIMATES
Professor, Kyoto University
President, International Primatological Society


Directors

Kazuo OIKE
President
Tetsuro MATSUAWA
General Director
Juichi YAMAGIWA
Museum Director
Gen'ichi IDANI (Itani)
Zoo Director
 

Our History

60th Anniversary
1948
Koshima, the Beginning of Primatology in Japan

The discipline of Primatology started in Japan on December 3rd, 1948. The late Kinji Imanishi (1902-1992) and his two students, from Kyoto University, went to Koshima Island to observe wild Japanese monkeys.

Photo © Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Itani Junichiro Archives

1953
Sweet-Potato Washing

Sweet-potato washing among Koshima monkeys was first observed.

Photo © Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Itani Junichiro Archives

1956
The Japan Monkey Centre (JMC)

JMC was founded on October 17th to promote research, education, conservation, welfare, and communication to the public regarding nonhuman primates.


The first Annual Meeting of Primates Studies held.

Photos © Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Itani Junichiro Archives

1957
Journal of Primatology PRIMATES

The Japan Monkey Centre (JMC) began the journal, "Primates", now the oldest Primatology journal written in English.

1958
First Time Africa

The JMC initiated the first expedition to Africa to study wild gorillas and chimpanzees in the February of this year.


An additional aim of the expedition was to meet with researchers at many different institutions around the world.

Photo: Dr. Carpenter (right), holding the very first issue of the Journal Primates, with Dr. Imanishi (left).

Photos © Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Itani Junichiro Archives

1960
Drs Itani and Goodall

The JMC sent Dr. Junichiro Itani on the third expedition to Africa. On September 29th, Dr. Itani arrived at Gombe and met with Dr. Jane Goodall.

Photo: from left to right: Drs Azuma, Imanishi, Itani, and Goodall (1961).
© Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Itani Junichiro Archives

1965

Dr. Toshisada Nishida succeeded in establishing the, now, second longest running wild chimpanzee research site at Mahale Mountains in western Tanzania.

1967
Primate Research Institute
Primate Research Institute

The Primate Research Institute (PRI) was established near to the JMC, with the help of JMC researchers. They joined PRI and played a vital role in managing PRI in the early days.

© Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University / Takeshi Furuichi

1971

The JMC funded Dr. Kosei Izawa to launch the first Japanese expedition to the Amazon .

2014
Beginning of a New Endeavor

The Japan Monkey Centre (JMC) became a 'Public Interest Incorporated Foundation ' from April 2014. JMC is now in the 59th year and still getting better.

Since 1957

PRIMATES

The oldest English-language Primatology journal
PRIMATES

Primates is the oldest English-language Primatology journal, published by the Japan Monkey Centre (JMC) through Springer in collaboration with Primate Society Japan. The object of this journal is to facilitate the research on the entire aspect of nonhuman primates in connection with man. Museum section of JMC is taking on the role of delegating editorial board members/advisory board members/editor-in-chief, hosting editorial board meeting, and editorial operation of the journal PRIMATES.


Afterword of Volume 1, Issue 1 of Primates, October 25, 1957

Currently, there is no journal specializing in primatology; I declare that this is the very first primatology journal. Isn't this exciting? First of all, primatology department is non-existent in any university of the world, and therefore there is nothing such as an academic society for primatology. The modification in the operation of academic authority is evidenced by the fact that the Japan Monkey Centre (JMC) introduced the publication of this specialized journal, skipping the normal course of development, which is to begin by establishing a department at a university, followed by organizing an academic society, and then publishing a journal. The term "primatology" can be translated as "reichourui-gaku" in Japanese. But, we do not prefer such a difficult, orotund name. The primatology that we envision is a new scholarly endeavor to comprehensively investigate, so to speak, the genealogical history of humankind, by comparatively studying primates situated in various phylogenetic statuses, from various academic fields from the perspectives of not only morphology and development, but also physiology, psychology, ecology, sociology, and so forth.

It is from this standpoint that we conceived, an idea of gathering various primate species from around the world in a zoo that is expected to be built under the supervision of the JMC; we do not recklessly expand our research focus to include animals that do not share recent common genealogy with humankind. In this first volume, only articles that are based on naturalistic observations of Japanese monkeys could be included, but this journal seeks to gradually fulfill all the aforementioned ambitions. On the other hand, I request contributions from outside the country and promotion of the journal, until it achieves global recognition. I might have made too many irresponsible remarks, but I just want things to proceed in a lively manner, anticipating a bright future for us. Therefore, I sincerely ask your support and cooperation.

Kinji Imanishi

 
 

Plan Your Visit

Become a Member

Tomo-no-kai membership

Sign up as a Member: Tomo-no-kai

Tomo-no-kai membership provides great benefits and privileges throughout the year. As a member you get free admission to the JMC, free parking, and special access to members-only events.

Admission Prices

Adult600 yen

Elementary and junior high school student
400 yen

Preschool child (age 3 and over)
300 yen

Under 2'sFree

Parking

Regular vehicle

From Mar to mid-Dec1,000 yen

From mid-Dec to Feb500 yen

Bus/microbus1,500 yen
 

Hours

Opening Hours

November - February10:00 - 16:00

March - October10:00 - 17:00

Days Closed Tuesday and Wednesday



Japan Monkey Centre (JMC) is closed every Tuesday and Wednesday. Additionally, JMC is closed weekdays in February. * Open on public holidays.

 

Directions

map
Address: 26 Kanrin, Inuyama, Aichi 484-0081 JAPAN

Transportation
20-minute walk from Inuyama Station on the Meitetsu Inuyama Line.

To Inuyama Station
From Meitetsu-Nagoya Station
About 25 minutes by the Rapid Limited Express (Kaisoku Tokkyu) or Limited Express (Tokkyu).
From Central Japan International Airport Station
About 55 minutes by μSKY Limited Express (Myu Sukai)

For further info, see Map and Transportation Guide @ INUYAMA Tourists Information Center Website
 

Map

map

Visitor Center

Experienced staff are always on-hand to tell visitors about the JMC and to answer any questions. We have information displays and also taxidermist specimens and skeletons of nonhuman primates. We hold special exhibitions on a wide variety of different themes.

Madagascar House

This outdoor enclosure is in the form of an island ringed by a deep moat, allowing the inhabitants to roam freely. Living on the island-enclosure are three different species of lemurs found in the wild only in Madagascar: brown lemurs, black lemurs, and ruffed lemurs.

South American House

Here you can see the tiny Callitrichidae monkeys that come from South America. The indoor enclosure is maintained at a temperature of about 25°C to simulate tropical jungle conditions. There is also a special room where day and night are reversed: during our daytime it is their night-time. Nocturnal monkeys can be seen moving about energetically during our daytime.


Asian House

Japanese macaques, also known as the snow monkeys, and living at the northern limit of the global range of all nonhuman primates, can be seen here, along with other Asian monkeys such as rhesus macaques.

Wao Land

You can enter this outdoor enclosure and experience a close encounter with free-moving ring-tailed lemurs.


African Center

One of the star attractions at the JMC is a family of chimpanzees, rejuvenated recently by birth of baby chimpanzee, Mamoru, last year. Around sunset, you can see gorillas gathering to search for their evening meal, parts of which will have been hidden earlier in various places within the enclosure by the staff. You can also see nocturnal monkeys here.

African House

Here you can see brightly-colored monkeys including, hamadryas baboons. Colobus monkeys show their strikingly beautiful black and white markings.


Castle of Baboons

Over seventy Anubis baboons can be watched from this rooftop viewing deck.

Monkey Valley

From this observation platform, you can see 160 Japanese Yaku-macaques living in a 4,000 m2 valley. From the winter solstice until the end of February, on weekends and holidays, see Japanese Yaku-macaques warming themselves by a real bonfire. The tradition of lighting bonfires for the monkeys began in 1957, after Japanese Yaku-macaques were observed to gather around the fires lit by staff to burn fallen trees following the Isewan Typhoon. This new ‘bonfire-season’ soon became established as a well-known, and cherished, annual event.


Big Loop
Monkey skyway
Squirrel monkey land

Monkey Scramble

Here, you can see siamangs brachiating (moving by swinging arm by arm) at a height of 15 meters (Big loop), Geoffroy's spider monkeys moving back and forth across a 100 meter long suspension bridge (Monkey skyway). Our Zoo caretakers regularly hand out information under the ‘Monkey skyway’. Don't forget to look up to see one of the must-see sights at the JMC. However, don't forget to keep an eye out for and avoid falling monkey excrement! Bolivian squirrel monkeys can be seen moving freely within the dense undergrowth on a small, nearby island (Squirrel monkey land).


Gibbons' House

Here you can see four different species of gibbons found in the wild in Southeast Asia: agile gibbons, capped gibbons, white-handed gibbons, and muller's gibbons.

Petting Zoo KIDS ZOO

You can enjoy petting about thirty different species of cute/creepy animals.

Educational Activities

In 1957 the Japan Monkey Centre (JMC) was registered as a museum, officially recognized under Japanese law. From that year on, the JMC has carried out a huge variety of different educational projects to promote nonhuman primates. We have aimed these projects at a wide range of audiences: children and students of all ages, teachers, zoo staff, and academic researchers.
Lectures on particular themes are held regularly by our experienced curators in lecture-theatres seating up to 200 people. The JMC also offers a number of zoo-based activities: guided tours, craft workshops, and other ‘hands-on’ events. There are even some programs available allowing students to gain valuable work experience.

Talks

By veteran curators, free 30 minute talks introducing their research themes
 

PRIMATES Conference

Annual Meetings of Primates Studies, Hosted by JMC
Next: The 61th
The 61st Primates Conference will be held from Saturday January 28 to Sunday January 29, 2017.
The 60th in 2016

January 30th - 31st, 2016

Read More
The 59th in 2015

January 31st - February 1st, 2015

Read More
 

CaPriCo

Database of Captive Primate Collection
http://www.j-monkey.jp/caprico/index_e.php
As a museum, the Japan Monkey Centre (JMC) is dedicated to maintain and catalogue stored specimens of the remains of dead animals. The database of our Captive Primate Collection (CaPriCo) will eventually provide detailed information for over 6,300 individual specimens stored at the JMC.
A sub-set of the information on skeletal specimens is already available. We are currently attempting to secure additional funding, to allow us to input and make available all data on skeletal and formalin-preserved specimens of brains, digestive organs and parasite specimens.
Observing the Daily Life of Wild Nonhuman Primates
One of our foremost goals is to introduce visitors to the world of wild nonhuman primates. In our view, it is essential that all JMC staff be familiar with the life of nonhuman primates in the wild. The JMC sends staff members to many locations where populations of nonhuman primates live in the wild, including: Koshima Island, Japan; Yakushima Island, Japan; and Tanzania, Africa.
Through observing wild nonhuman primates in their natural habitat, we gather ideas of how best to enhance our captive animals' living environment: by bringing the possible actions as close as possible to that of their counterparts living in the wild.
アクセスカウンター
Go to Top